Our Purpose: Supporting, Celebrating, and Developing Women Leaders


ATHENA Valley of the Sun wants to foster the stories of the amazing things Arizona women are doing to make a difference in our community. Each woman has a story to tell and ATHENA Valley of the Sun wants to help give voice to their stories by identifying and honoring women who are leading by example in our community.

Each year our Award event will feature ground breaking women in our community.  Hear their stories and learn about the ATHENA® Leadership Principles and how women have been using this model to lead for generations.

The ATHENA® Leadership Award was inspired by ATHENA, goddess of Greek mythology known for her strength, courage, wisdom and enlightenment, qualities embodied in the ATHENA Leadership Model.  The award is unique both in scope-local, national and international-and the ATHENA mission upon which it is based. By honoring exceptional leaders, the ATHENA® Leadership Award program seeks to inspire others to achieve excellence in their professional and personal lives. The ATHENA Leadership Award will be presented to one Arizona woman who is honored for her professional excellence, for her actively assisting others, particularly women in realizing their full leadership potential and for contributing time and energy to improve the community.

Award Presentation

ATHENA Founder Martha Mertz presenting ATHENA Leadership Award to Barbara Barrett

ATHENA Valley of the Sun HONORING ATHENA INSPIRED LEADERS (HAIL) Award focuses on the ATHENA Leadership Principles in order to create awareness of the strength of women leaders who embody them. The principles that we will be highlighting are: Live Authentically, Learn Constantly, Build Relationships, Foster Collaboration, Advocate Fiercely, and Act Courageously.


2017 HAIL Reciepients

Young ATHENAs and HAIL Award Recipients: Dr. Nadia Katrangi, Annie Groth, Dr. Claire McWilliams, Maraion Douglas, Dr. Brenda Combs, Jodi Farley


Nominations for 2018 Awards will take place September 7th-October 27th

The Award Luncheon will occur on Thursday, March 8, 2018